2014 APW $1,000 Journalism Scholarship

Arizona high school students who are planning to study journalism at an Arizona university or community college in the fall of 2014 are invited to apply for the $1,000 Arizona Press Women Memorial Journalism Scholarship. Application deadline is April 21, 2014.    

Arizona Press Women, a statewide organization of professional communicators, established an annual scholarship with funds honoring the memory of Betty Latty-Hurlburt, a notable Phoenix journalist who passed away in 1997 and June Payne, a longtime member, journalist and photographer. 

Applicants must be graduating high school seniors who intend to major in journalism at an accredited Arizona university or community college. Requirements include filling out an application, a letter of recommendation from a high school teacher, two published writing samples and a one-page letter or essay from the student that describes her/his background and the reasons she/he wants to pursue a career in journalism.

Applications and further instructions are available Here or by contacting the scholarship chair Joan Westlake at 480-968-8902 or jkwestlake@aol.com.

About jkwestlake

Experienced journalist, editor and pr professional in Tempe, Ariz.
%d bloggers like this: